THE 15th ANNUAL Weber Cup is set to take place at the Metrodome in Barnsley from Friday to Sunday 10th to 12th October and an unchanged Team Europe will be hoping for a repeat showing of the steely performance that won them the coveted trophy last year.

Having been whipped 17-7 in 2012, the Europeans trailed 1-5 after the first session and found themselves 8-10 down going into the final day, having never held the lead. However, Game 23 on Sunday afternoon saw them take the lead at last and they held on to take an impressive 17-14 victory.

They took the overall Weber Cup score to 8-6 in favour of the Americans.

Captained by veteran Mika Koivuniemi (Finland), the European team remains unchanged as they attempt to make it two in a row. Dominic Barrett, who makes his seventh Weber Cup appearance, enjoyed a superb 2013 which culminated in him winning the PBA World Championship.

Making up the team is former European No.1 Martin Larsen (Sweden) who returns for his third Weber Cup appearance, and Stuart Williams – the first Englishman to win a title on the PBA Tour.

Team USA have one change to last year’s side. Out goes Mike Fagan to be replaced by 37 year-old Texan Wes Malott, who will be making his Weber debut.

Chris Barnes is back to captain the side in what will be his ninth appearance in the event.

The team also includes Weber Cup 300 man Tommy Jones, and former PBA Rookie of the Year Bill O’Neill.

The Weber Cup is the tenpin bowling version of golf’s Ryder Cup as two four-man teams from Europe and the USA compete over three days in a series of singles, doubles and baker format matches.

The Weber Cup will be staged over five sessions – 7.00pm Friday and 1.00pm and 6.00pm on Saturday and Sunday. The tournament will be produced by Matchroom Sport television and subsequently broadcast on Sky Sports as 16 x one hour programmes as well as by various stations around the world.

Home to nearly 40 years of sports and live action

sign up for free now
Matchroom Live